Melbourne

The last trip with the three other girls I met while in Australia had to be a big one! We were leaving soon and wanted to make sure we could see as much as possible in such a small window of time.  We decided to take the short flight to Melbourne from Newcastle, it only ended up being an hour or so of a flight. We found a cheap hostel before hand, even though none of us are fond of them, and we were ready to explore the city.  Friday was a full day, we booked a tour that would show us around the Great Ocean Road.  It was pretty spectacular! We got to see koalas in the wild, hold parrots, see the 12 apostles, and see the beautiful sights as we drove along the Great Ocean Road. Before getting on the road itself we stopped at this Chocolate Factory, and let me say I felt like a kid, so overwhelmed with all the candies and chocolates to choose from, I couldn’t contain myself.

IMG_3290
A few of the 12 Apostles

The road is quite windy so if you get car sick, much like myself, I recommend taking something before hand! The story of the road is filled with lots of history, it was built to remember those soldiers from Australia who died in World War I.  The 12 Apostles are rock formations that come up from the ocean, which honestly I could have stayed and looked at them all day.  There are no longer 12 standing because of erosion and what not, but there is still a lot to see!

 

After a long day Friday, we spend Saturday just roaming around the city.  Of course we had to stop and have a photo shoot at the Brighton Beach Boxes, I mean how could you not! We also stopped at the famous Hoiser Lane to check out all the awesome street art.  I also tried to visit the Van Gogh exhibit at the Melbourne National Gallery, but sadly the line was incredibly long. My favourite thing that we did was check out the South Melbourne Market.  Being the foodie that I am I was so excited to see all these food stalls and the smell was just taking me to my happy place.  I couldn’t resist and get some fresh oysters as well as some gelato that was just out of this world!  The atmosphere was just amazing, if I could go back right now I totally would.

I was grateful to check off Melbourne with those lovely ladies. I had a wonderful time and it is definitely a city that I will be returning to!

Cheers,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

